Institute of

Sea Fisheries



Konstanze von Schudnat
Institute of Sea Fisheries

Palmaille 9
22767 Hamburg-Altona
Phone: +49 40 38905 178
Fax: +49 40 38905 263


Sustainable exploitation of natural marine resources

We conduct ecological and economic research to provide the scientific basis for

  • maintaining healthy and productive fish stocks and ecosystems in the North Sea and North Atlantic,
  • ensuring sustainable aquatic food supply,
  • integrating multiple ocean uses into an ecosystem approach to ocean management.

The shallow continental shelf areas account for only 8 percent of total ocean area, but host the most productive marine ecosystems in the world. 99 percent of marine catch originate from these narrow shelf areas. Only in healthy ecosystems, fish stocks reach their full productivity, and the overarching management goal of maximum sustainable yield can be achieved. However, more and more users are competing for space and ecosystem services in these productive areas: offshore windparks, Natura 2000 marine protected areas and other demands next to fisheries call for an integrated approach to managing all human activities at sea.

We support policymakers in integrating fisheries into comprehensive ocean management. In order to achieve this goal, a paradigm shift in fisheries research was needed. A focus on commercially exploited species and the influence of fisheries on these stocks is not enough. We work system-oriented and have structured our Institute’s research units accordingly. Findings obtained in one research area constitute the basis for the next higher observation level:

  • Single- and multi species fish stock assessments and projections form the basis for studies on the structure and dynamics of the ecosystems, in which they live.
  • The next level encompasses economic considerations of services aquatic ecosystems provide. We analyse production systems and the behaviour of economic actors under different biological, economic and normative boundary conditions along the value chain from catch to plate.
  • The economic analyses are, in turn, part of integrated analyses of marine (spatial) use concepts. We address cumulative impacts of simultaneously occurring uses of the sea, including fisheries, nature conservation, wind farm construction, or aggregate extraction and shipping, with the aim to optimize multiple-use scenarios.

Neither protection nor the utilisation of living marine resources and marine ecosystems should be organised at national level. Therefore, fisheries research and management has already over decades been organized in international co-operation, and we have been drawing up management and fishing quota recommendations for entire fish stocks rather than stock components in national waters. A unique series of long-term data, collected transnationally using our three highly specialised research vessels, are the basis for this.

We use the technological progress in other marine science disciplines and adapt technology and innovative methods for fish stock monitoring. In combination with 3D oceanographic drift model output, these data will help us, in future, to analyse changes in the marine environment and its impact on fish stocks and ecosystems almost in real time.

Fields of Activity

Makrelen im Probenbehälter (©  Thünen-Institut/Birgit Suer)
Marine living resources
Quotas and other EU management measures (e.g., closed areas, closed seasons, gear specifications) regulate how much fish is allowed to be taken from a population and how fishery impacts marine ecosystems.
Fangzusammensetzung 2 m-Kurre (©  Thünen-Institut)
Marine ecosystems
How will our marine ecosystems look like in future? How will functions and ecosystem services be altered under climate change and simultaneous intensive human use?
 (©  Thünen-Institut)
Operational observation systems
The physical and chemical properties of the ocean control the distribution and population dynamics of fish and other marine organism to a large extent.
 (©  Thünen-Institut)
Marine spatial management
Fisheries, offshore renewables, marine conservation, shipping and science: More and more users are competing for the same space in coastal and offshore areas. How can we balance sustainable use of marine resources and the maintenance of ecosystem health?
 (©  Thünen-Institut)
Economic analyses
The global demand for fish has been growing constantly for years. At the same time fisheries reach the limit of natural resource use.



Nothing found.

Institut für

Seefischerei

Institutsleitung

Stellvertretende Institutsleitung

Sekretariat

Konstanze von Schudnat
Institut für Seefischerei

Palmaille 9
22767 Hamburg-Altona
Telefon: +49 40 38905 178
Fax: +49 40 38905 263
sf@thuenen.de


 (c)

Nachhaltiger Fischfang in gesunden Meeren

Wir erarbeiten die ökologischen und ökonomischen Grundlagen, um

  • die Fischbestände und Ökosysteme in der Nordsee und im Nordatlantik gesund zu erhalten,
  • eine nachhaltige Versorgung mit hochwertigen Lebensmitteln aus dem Meer sicherzustellen,
  • unterschiedliche Nutzungsformen ökosystemgerecht und konfliktarm zu integrieren.

Die flachen Kontinentalsockel machen etwa acht Prozent der Gesamtfläche der Meere aus und beherbergen einige der produktivsten Ökosysteme der Welt. 99 Prozent der Seefischereierträge stammen aus diesen schmalen Schelfgebieten. Nur wenn die Ökosysteme intakt sind, können Fischbestände dort ihre volle Produktivität entfalten und kann das Managementziel des maximalen Dauerertrags erreicht werden. Gleichzeitig konkurriert die Fischerei mit immer mehr Nutzern: Offshore-Windparks, Natura-2000-Meeresschutzgebiete und andere Ansprüche erfordern einen Paradigmenwechsel in der Fischereipolitik – hin zu einem integrierten Bewirtschaftungsmodell.

Wir wollen die Politik darin unterstützen, die Fischerei in ein umfassendes Meeresmanagement zu integrieren. Deshalb haben wir auch in der Fischereiforschung einen Paradigmenwechsel vollzogen. Wir arbeiten systemorientiert und haben die Forschungseinheiten unseres Instituts so zugeschnitten, dass in einem Bereich gewonnene Erkenntnisse die Basis der nächsthöheren Betrachtungsebenen bilden:

  • Analysen von Fischbeständen und Prognosen zu deren Entwicklung sind eingebettet in Untersuchungen der Ökosysteme, in denen sie leben.
  • Auf der nächsten Ebene stehen ökonomische Betrachtungen: Wir analysieren Produktionssysteme und das Verhalten der Akteure unter unterschiedlichen biologischen, ökonomischen und normativen Randbedingungen entlang der Wertschöpfungskette vom Fang bis zum Teller.
  • Die ökonomischen Analysen sind wiederum Teil der Gesamtbetrachtung von Meeresnutzungskonzepten. Wir fragen, wie sich verschiedene Schutz- und Nutzungsansprüche kumulativ auswirken und suchen nach optimalen Lösungen.

Das Leben im Meer kennt keine Ländergrenzen; weder Schutz noch Ressourcennutzung lassen sich national organisieren. Seit jeher erarbeiten wir deshalb Bewirtschaftungs- und Fangquotenempfehlungen im internationalen Verbund. Die einzigartigen Serien von Langzeitdaten, die wir mithilfe unserer drei hochspezialisierten Forschungsschiffe nationenübergreifend erheben, bilden dafür die Basis.

Wir nutzen den technologischen Fortschritt anderer Meeresforschungsdisziplinen und passen automatisierte Messverfahren für das Monitoring von Fischbeständen an. Im Zusammenspiel mit 3D-Simulationsmodellen der Meeresströmungen helfen uns diese Daten, Änderungen der Meeresumwelt und die Auswirkungen auf Fischbestände und Ökosysteme künftig nahezu in Echtzeit zu analysieren.

Arbeitsbereiche

Makrelen im Probenbehälter (©  Thünen-Institut/Birgit Suer)
Lebende Meeresressourcen
Im Arbeitsbereich „Lebende Meeresressourcen“ erfassen und bewerten wir, wie sich die Nutzung von Fischen und anderen Meeresorganismen auf deren Populationen – in der Fischereibiologie nennt man sie Bestände – auswirkt.
Fangzusammensetzung 2 m-Kurre (©  Thünen-Institut)
Meeresökosysteme
Wir analysieren Struktur, Funktion und Dienstleistungen der Meeresökosysteme unter dem Einfluss menschlicher Nutzung.
 (©  Thünen-Institut)
Mess- und Beobachtungssysteme
Welche Einflüsse haben Umweltparameter wie zum Beispiel Temperatur und Salzgehalt auf Fische und deren Verbreitung? Und wie reagieren diese auf klimatisch bedingte Veränderungen in Ihrer Umwelt?
 (©  Thünen-Institut)
Integrierte Meeresnutzungskonzepte
Unsere Hauptmotivation im Arbeitsbereich Meeresraumnutzung ist die Frage nach einer nachhaltigen Nutzung des Meeresraumes sowie nach der Vereinbarkeit der zunehmenden, vielfältigen Nutzungsansprüche untereinander.
 (©  Thünen-Institut)
Ökonomische Analysen
Der globale Bedarf an Fischereierzeugnissen steigt seit Jahren kontinuierlich. Gleichzeitig stößt die Fischerei an die natürlichen Grenzen der Ressourcennutzung.

Nachrichten

Veranstaltungen

Keine gefunden.