Institute of

Wood Research

Acting Director

Secretariat

Michaela Höner

Institut für Holzforschung

 

Leuschnerstraße 91

21031 Hamburg-Bergedorf

Phone: +49 40 73962 601

Fax: +49 40 73962 699

hf@  thuenen.de

 

 


 (c)

With wood sustainably into the future

Material use of wood as a renewable resource is of significant value in our society. Wood also has an important impact on protecting our climate and environment. Sustainability, resource efficiency, product quality, and innovation are important aspects addressed by the Thünen Institute of Wood Research.

Our research aims at the ecological and economically optimized production of wood-based materials and the sustainable use of wood. The diverse relationships between material use of wood and environmental protection, responsible utilization of wood resources, working and living environment, as well as aspects of health and consumer protection are considered. We are the leading national institute in wood identification; in this context we also assist the authorities in their actions against the trade of protected wood species and illegally logged timber. We consider the impact of predicted climate change on wood quality and we support an extended use of wood to mitigate CO2-emissions by substitution. Our expertise covers the entire wood sector. It provides well-based advice and solutions for policy, society, associations and industry. We do interdisciplinary research and cooperate closely with the Department of Wood Science at the University of Hamburg.

  • We assess the quality of wood and wood products and we are a leading institution for wood identification.
  • We work on technologies to optimize bio-based ground and construction materials and to improve raw material efficiency.
  • We develop innovative products.
  • We conduct life cycle assessments to quantify and evaluate the impact on the environment and climate resulting from wood utilization, in particular considering the requirements of the national greenhouse gas reporting system.
  • We investigate and evaluate health aspects related to the use of natural, modified, and preservative-treated wood.
  • We generate knowledge on the natural durability of wood and wood products.

Fields of Activity

The Thünen Centre of Competence on the Origin of Timber

The competence centre is a central contact facility for government agencies, the timber trade, consumers and associations to verify the species of wood and/or wood products and their origin. The competence centre is able to determine wood samples accurately at the genus or species level and can check claims on the geographical origin of an increasing number of tree types.

Cooperation with the University of Hamburg

The Institute of Wood Research closely cooperates with the activity fields mechanical- and chemical technology as well as wood biology of the Wood Science Centre of  the  University of Hamburg. 

Tidings

Institut für

Holzforschung

Institutsleitung (kommissarisch)

Sekretariat

Michaela Höner

Institut für Holzforschung

 

Leuschnerstraße 91

21031 Hamburg-Bergedorf

Telefon: +49 40 73962 601

Fax: +49 40 73962 699

hf@  thuenen.de


 (c)

Mit Holz nachhaltig in die Zukunft

Die stoffliche Nutzung des nachwachsenden Rohstoffs Holz hat in unserer Gesellschaft einen hohen Stellenwert. Holz leistet gleichzeitig einen wichtigen Beitrag zum Klima- und Umweltschutz. Nachhaltigkeit, Ressourceneffizienz, Produktqualität und Innovation sind wichtige Aspekte, mit denen sich das Thünen-Institut für Holzforschung auseinandersetzt.

Unsere Forschung zielt auf eine ökologisch und ökonomisch optimierte stoffliche Verwertung sowie eine nachhaltige Verwendung von Holz. Die vielfältigen Beziehungen zwischen Holzverwendung, Umwelt- und Ressourcenschutz, Arbeits-/Wohnumfeld, Gesundheit und Verbraucherschutz werden hierbei berücksichtigt. Im Zusammenhang mit Maßnahmen zur Unterbindung des Handels mit artengeschütztem und illegal eingeschlagenem Holz sind wir nationale Referenzstelle für die Holzartenbestimmung. Wir befassen uns mit den Auswirkungen prognostizierter Klimaänderungen auf die Holzqualität und mit der Ausweitung der Holznutzung als Maßnahme zur Minderung der CO2-Emissionen durch Substitution. Unsere umfassende holzwissenschaftliche Expertise ermöglicht die Erarbeitung von Lösungen dieser und weiterer technologischer Themenstellungen – für Politik, Gesellschaft, Verbände und Wirtschaft. Dies erfolgt interdisziplinär und in enger Kooperation mit dem Zentrum Holzwirtschaft der Universität Hamburg.

  • Wir beurteilen die Qualität von Holz und Holzprodukten und sind führend in der Holzartenbestimmung.
  • Wir forschen an Technologien zur Optimierung biobasierter Grund- und Werkstoffe sowie zur Steigerung der Rohstoffeffizienz.
  • Wir arbeiten an der Entwicklung innovativer Holzprodukte.
  • Wir quantifizieren und bewerten die Auswirkungen der Holznutzung auf Umwelt und Klima, insbesondere im Rahmen der nationalen Treibhausgasberichterstattung und durch Ökobilanzierungen.
  • Wir untersuchen und bewerten Gesundheitsaspekte im Zusammenhang mit der Verwendung von naturbelassenem, modifiziertem und chemisch geschütztem Holz.
  • Wir erarbeiten spezifische Kenntnisse zur natürlichen Dauerhaftigkeit von Holz und Holzprodukten und bewerten Holzschäden.

Arbeitsbereiche

Kooperation mit der Universität Hamburg

Das Institut für Holzforschung arbeitet mit den Abteilungen Mechanische und Chemische Holztechnologie sowie Holzbiologie am Zentrum Holzwirtschaft der Universität Hamburg zusammen. Gemeinsam wird der Studiengang Holzwirtschaft durchgeführt.

Nachrichten