Institute of

Fisheries Ecology

Secretariat

Angelina Popovic
Institute of Fisheries Ecology

Palmaille 9
22767 Hamburg-Altona
Phone: +49 40 38905 290
Fax: +49 40 38905 261
fi@thuenen.de


 (c)

Inland waters and shelf seas are sensitive ecosystems. We know them as important economic zones for aquaculture and fisheries. At the same time, excessive nutrient input and pollution caused by contaminants jeopardise these habitats. Against this overarching backdrop we establish the key topics for our research and policy advice.

Our remit is to explore and monitor the marine environment. We seek to identify early changes and to assess their impacts on the use potential of living resources. Alternative use concepts are becoming increasingly important particularly in the context of the development of sustainable production methods in marine and freshwater aquaculture. Use concepts also become protection concepts when it comes to preserving sensitive migratory fish species or protecting genetic diversity in aquatic stocks.

  • Healthy, sustainably useable marine resources: The use of marine resources is dependent on their protection from pollutants and their health. With our three research vessels and modern laboratory analytics, we record unique long-term data on radioactivity and contaminant loads in fish and other aquatic organisms. Our tasks also include the monitoring of fish diseases. Every year we assess the health condition of thousands of individual fish from the North and Baltic Seas.
  • Analysis, evaluation and optimisation of aquaculture systems: Around the world marine and freshwater aquaculture already supplies more than half the fish and seafood for human consumption. At the same time, various aquaculture systems, in particular intensive ones, around the globe fail markedly to meet the requirements in terms of resource efficiency and environmental impact. We evaluate the economic and ecological aspects and the animal welfare compliance of various methods, develop new feeds and test new species for their suitability for aquaculture.
  • Preservation of genetic diversity in seas and inland waters: We develop protection concepts to preserve sensitive migratory fish species and conserve the diversity of aquatic stocks. Furthermore, we draw on our expertise in the field of species identification and genetic fingerprinting. Using a unique DNA sample collection from Atlantic fish species we help to stop the import of processed fish products from illegal or non-regulated fishing.

We work in an interdisciplinary manner - chemists, biologists, fisheries and aquaculture experts and technicians work closely together at our Institute in order to carry forward research in the field of fisheries ecology together with our international partners. This enables us to provide a high standard of advice for policymakers and to meet quality standards for our monitoring obligations within the framework of international agreements (OSPAR, HELCOM, EU Marine Strategy Framework Directive).

Fields of Activity

Tidings

Institut für

Fischereiökologie

Institutsleitung

Stellvertretende Institutsleitung

Sekretariat

Institut für Fischereiökologie

Palmaille 9
22767 Hamburg-Altona
Telefon: +49 40 38905 290
Fax: +49 40 38905 261
fi@thuenen.de


 (c)

Binnengewässer und Schelfmeere sind sensible Ökosysteme. Wir nutzen sie als wichtige Wirtschaftszonen für Aquakultur und Fischerei; gleichzeitig gefährden übermäßiger Nährstoffeintrag und die Verschmutzung durch Schadstoffe diese Lebensräume. Aus diesem Spannungsbogen leiten wir die Kernthemen unserer Forschung und Politikberatung ab.

Unser Auftrag ist es, die Meeresumwelt zu erforschen und zu überwachen. Wir wollen frühzeitig erkennen, was sich verändert, und bewerten können, wie sich das auf das Nutzungspotenzial lebender Ressourcen auswirkt. Immer wichtiger werden dabei – vor allem im Rahmen der Entwicklung nachhaltiger Produktionsverfahren in der Meeres- und Binnen-Aquakultur – alternative Nutzungskonzepte. Nutzungskonzepte werden aber auch zu Schutzkonzepten, dort, wo es um den Erhalt sensibler Wanderfischarten geht oder um die Bewahrung genetischer Diversität in aquatischen Beständen.

  • Gesunde, nachhaltig nutzbare Meeresressourcen: Um Meeresressourcen nutzen zu können, müssen sie möglichst unbelastet von Schadstoffen und gesund sein. Mit unseren drei Forschungsschiffen und moderner Laboranalytik erheben wir einzigartige Langzeitdaten zu Radioaktivität und Schadstoffbelastung in Fischen und anderen aquatischen Organismen. Auch das Erfassen von Fischkrankheiten gehört zu unseren Aufgaben: Pro Jahr bestimmen wir den Gesundheitszustand tausender Einzelfische aus Nord- und Ostsee.
  • Analyse, Bewertung und Optimierung von Aquakultur-Systemen: Weltweit liefert die Meeres- und Binnen-Aquakultur bereits mehr als die Hälfte an Fisch und Meeresfrüchten für die Humanernährung. Gleichzeitig verfehlen weltweit vor allem verschiedene Intensiv-Aquakultursysteme die Anforderungen an Ressourceneffizienz und Umweltwirkung deutlich. Wir bewerten Ökonomie, Ökologie und Tiergerechtheit verschiedener Verfahren, entwickeln neue Futtermittel und testen neue Arten auf ihre Eignung für die Aquakultur.
  • Erhalt genetischer Diversität in Meeren und Binnengewässern: Um sensible Wanderfischarten zu erhalten und die Diversität aquatischer Bestände zu bewahren, entwickeln wir Schutzkonzepte. Zudem nutzen wir unsere Expertise im Bereich der Arterkennung und des genetischen Fingerprinting: Mittels einer einzigartigen DNA-Proben-Sammlung atlantischer Fischarten helfen wir, den Import verarbeiteter Fischprodukte aus illegaler oder unregulierter Fischerei zu unterbinden.

Wir leben Interdisziplinarität – an unserem Institut arbeiten Chemiker, Biologen, Fischwirte und Techniker eng zusammen, um gemeinsam mit internationalen Partnern die Forschung auf dem Gebiet der Fischereiökologie voranzubringen. Eine hohe Beratungsqualität für die Politik sichern wir damit ebenso wie die Erfüllung der Qualitätsstandards für unsere Monitoring-Pflichten im Rahmen internationaler Konventionen (OSPAR, HELCOM, EU-Meeresstrategie-Rahmenrichtlinie).

Arbeitsbereiche

Nachrichten

Veranstaltungen

Keine gefunden.