Institute of

Forest Genetics

Secretariat Großhansdorf

Irene Joraszik

Sieker Landstraße 2
22927 Großhansdorf
Phone: +49 4102 696 0
Fax: +49 4102 696 200
fg@thuenen.de

Secretariat Waldsieversdorf

Rosi Adler

Eberswalder Chaussee 3a
15377 Waldsieversdorf
Phone: +49 33433 157 0
Fax: +49 33433 157 199
fg-ws@thuenen.de


 (c)

Vital, productive, legally managed forests - worldwide

Globally ahead:  We develop methods and reference data to determine the species and source of timber by gene tests– an important action against illegal logging and a considerable contribution to sustainable forest management.   We strive for forests, which are managed legally and sustainably. Forests shall be productive and stable to resist natural and anthropogenic disturbances.

By means of a continually developed Germany-wide network of over five hundred field trials, we test on a long-term basis the growth potential and resistance of differing seed sources of the predominant tree species in Germany. Under controlled conditions in greenhouses and climate chambers we additionally test different resistance characteristics of affected tree species against novel pathogenic agents.

Generation cycles of trees vary from 5 to 40 years depending on the species. Their genetic improvement takes much longer than in the mostly annual plants cultivated in agriculture. There are therefore no private investors in this field. However, breeding is a means by which growth potential and resistance as well wood quality can be raised considerably in trees. Jointly with the research institutions of the Länder we carry out publically funded improvement programs. Furthermore, we investigate the potentials and risks of implementing biotechnology in trees.

Our field trials and tree breeding research has required long range continuity. We shall be engaged in this research also in future. We develop standards for subsequent application in other research institutions. The results from provenance trials, which also consider aspects of climate change, lead into recommendations for politicians, funding guidelines, and silvicultural management recommendations. Some of the field trials are being used for the approval of high value reproductive material of the category” Tested“. The basic material required to produce reproductive material, is provided to nurseries and in-vitro-labs for marketing against licenses or royalties.

In the area of genomic research and genetic inventories we go through fast technological progress. Was it possible before ten years to study only few gene regions, is it now possible to analyze hundreds of genes simultaneously or even whole genomes. We shall extend in the next years the development and application of gene markers and DNA-sequence data considerably, especially for the application in international timber tracking research.

That we today occupy a prominent place in international research results from the continuing development of a worldwide infrastructure of trials in forests und a network of partnering labs. We represent Germany in the European Forest Genetic Resources Network (EUFORGEN) and edit the forest genetics journal ”Silvae Genetica“.

 

Fields of Activity

 (©  )
Provenance and Breeding Research
Provenance trials with a variety of broadleaved and coniferous tree species, tree breeding and forest genetic resources are topics in this research area. Read more
 (©  )
Pathogen Resistance and Seed Quality Research
Here the genetic variation and adaptation of pathogens and parasites, methods of resistance breeding and research on seeds build the focus of our research. Read more
 (©  )
Ecological Genetics
Here perform research on the impact of environmental factors, forestry and forest fragmentation on the genetic diversity. Further we develop genetic methods and reference data to identify species and the geographic origin. Read more
 (©  )
Genome Research
We analyse the structure and function of genes and genomes, develop molecular markers and study potentials and risks of biotechnology. Read more

Institut für

Forstgenetik

Institutsleitung

Stellvertretende Institutsleitung

Sekretariat Großhansdorf

Irene Joraszik

Sieker Landstraße 2
22927 Großhansdorf
Telefon: +49 4102 696 0
Fax: +49 4102 696 200
fg@thuenen.de

Sekretariat Waldsieversdorf

Rosi Adler

Eberswalder Chaussee 3a
15377 Waldsieversdorf
Telefon: +49 33433 157 0
Fax: +49 33433 157 199
fg-ws@thuenen.de


Anreise zu den Standorten

Großhansdorf

Waldsieversdorf

 (c)

Gesunde, wüchsige, legal bewirtschaftete Wälder - weltweit

Weltweit vorne:  wir erarbeiten Methoden und Referenzdaten, um Art und Herkunft von Hölzern mit Gentests zu bestimmen – ein wichtiger Beitrag gegen den illegalen Einschlag von Holz und ein Beitrag zur nachhaltigen Forstwirtschaft.

Wir möchten, dass der Wald legal und nachhaltig genutzt wird. Er soll wuchskräftig und stabil gegenüber natürlichen und anthropogenen Störungen sein.

Bäume haben je nach Art eine Generationsdauer von 5 bis 40 Jahren. Sie zu züchten dauert viel länger als bei den zumeist einjährigen Pflanzen in der Landwirtschaft. Daher investiert die Privatwirtschaft in diesem Bereich nicht. Gerade durch Züchten von Bäumen lassen sich jedoch Wüchsigkeit und Widerstandsfähigkeit wie auch die Holzqualität deutlich steigern. Gemeinsam mit den forstlichen Versuchsanstalten der Länder führen wir daher staatlich geförderte Züchtungsprogramme durch. Ferner ermitteln wir Potenziale und Risiken der Biotechnologie bei Bäumen.

Unsere Feldversuche und Züchtungsprogramme verlangen nach Kontinuität und Langfristigkeit. Daher werden wir uns auch zukünftig hier engagieren. Wir entwickeln Standards, die anschließend von weiteren Versuchseinrichtungen angewendet werden. Die Ergebnisse aus den Herkunftsversuchen, die auch Aspekte des Klimawandels berücksichtigen, gehen in Politikempfehlungen, Förderrichtlinien und Anbauempfehlungen des Waldbaus ein. Ein Teil der Feldversuche wird direkt für die Zulassung von höherwertigem Vermehrungsgut der Kategorie „Geprüft“ genutzt. Das Ausgangsmaterial, mit dem wir Saat- und Pflanzgut erzeugen, geben wir an Baumschulen und In-vitro-Labore zur Vermarktung gegen Lizenzgebühren ab.

Im Bereich Genomforschung und genetische Inventuren durchlaufen wir einen sehr schnellen technischen Fortschritt. Wurden vor zehn Jahren nur einige wenige Genbereiche untersucht, können wir inzwischen hunderte von Genen gleichzeitig oder gar ganze Genome analysieren. Wir werden in den nächsten Jahren die Entwicklung und den Einsatz von Genmarkern und DNA-Sequenzdaten deutlich ausbauen, insbesondere für den Einsatz in der internationalen Holzherkunftsforschung.

Dass wir heute in der internationalen Forschung einen besonderen Platz behaupten, liegt an der über viele Jahre gewachsenen, weltweiten Infrastruktur mit Versuchsflächen im Wald und Partnerlaboren. Wir vertreten Deutschland im Europäischen Netzwerk zur Erhaltung Forstlicher Genressourcen (EUFORGEN) und geben die forstgenetische Fachzeitschrift „Silvae Genetica“ heraus.

Arbeitsbereiche

 (©  )
Herkunfts- und Züchtungsforschung
Herkunftsversuche mit verschiedenen Laub- und Nadelbaumarten, Züchtung und forstliche Genressourcen sind die Themen in diesem Arbeitsbereich. Weiterlesen
 (©  )
Resistenz- und Saatgutforschung
Die genetische Variation und Anpassungsprozesse bei Pathogenen und Parasiten, Methoden der Resistenzprüfung und Resistenzzüchtung sowie die Saatgutforschung sind hier die Forschungsschwerpunkte. Weiterlesen
 (©  )
Ökologische Genetik
Wir erforschen die Auswirkung von Umwelteinflüssen, Forstwirtschaft und Waldfragmentierung auf die genetische Vielfalt und entwickeln genetische Methoden und Referenzdaten zur Art- und Herkunftsidentifizierung. Weiterlesen
 (©  )
Genomforschung
Wir untersuchen die Struktur und Funktion von Genen und Genomen, Entwicklung molekularer Marker und erforschen Potentiale und Risiken der Biotechnologie. Weiterlesen